•   
    Header Pic  
     
     Park Forest Middle School Math League

    This is the official PFMS site dedicated to Math League! Math League is open to all students who enjoy math.  No prior experience is needed. Explore below and the tabs on the left for more information. Practices are from 3:45 to 4:45 some Wednesday afternoons in the PFMS commons. Start date is October 11, 2023

    Coach: Susan Owens smo17@scasd.org 

    Please fill out the Math League Interest Form to make sure you get future emails.  Please make sure to fill out this form as this is the best way to make sure I get emails correctly.

    Complete the 23-24 permission form and return to Coach Owens (Room 218) by October 10!

    We love to have snacks at each practice!  Please sign up here to volunteer to bring in snacks for one of our practices.  Plan on snacks for about 30 kids.


     Math League Tentative Schedule  

    Date  Practice/Meet Time Location
    Wed, October 11, 2023 1st Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PM PFMS Commons
     Wed, October 18, 2023  Practice  3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
     Wed, October 25, 2023  Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
     Wed, November 1, 2023  Tryout #1  On Your Own Regular Transportation Home
     Wed, November 8, 2023  Meet #1  4:00 - 6:30 MNMS Cafeteria
    Wed, November 15, 2023 Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
    Wed, November 29, 2023 Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
    Wed, December 6, 2023 Tryout #2 On Your Own Regular Transportation Home
    Wed, December 13, 2023 Meet #2 4:00 - 6:30 PFMS Commons
    Wed, January 3, 2024 Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
    Wed, January 10, 2024 Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
    Wed, January 17, 2024 Tryout #3 On Your Own Regular Transportation Home
    Sat, January 27, 2024  Meet #3 10:00 - 12:30 PSU Altoona Campus
    Wed, January 31, 2024 Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
    Wed, February 7, 2024 Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
    Wed, February 14, 2024 Tryout #4 On Your Own Regular Transportation Home
    Wed, February 21, 2024 Meet #4 4:00 - 6:30 TBD
    Wed, March 13, 2024 Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
    Wed, March 20, 2024 Practice 3:45 – 4:45 PFMS Commons
    Wed, March 27, 2024 Tryout #5 On Your Own Regular Transportation Home
    Wed, April 3, 2024 Meet #5 4:30 - 7:00 Young Scholars

                           


    Competition Math programs at PFMS: 

    Math League: This is the official PFMS site dedicated to Math League! Math League is open to all students who enjoy math - no prior experience is needed. Explore below and the tabs on the left for more information. Practices are from 3:45 to 4:45 some Wednesday afternoons in the PFMS commons. Start date is October 11, 2023

    Math Madness: Math Madness is a casual and informal competition program.  Mr. Ahearn will be running it this year, so if you want more information, feel free to email him at ama56@scasd.org

    Mathcounts: Mathcounts is a club for our most serious and dedicated mathletes.  Each year, we work hard to advance to the state and even to the national competition.  We are able to bring 12 students to our first competition. The school tryout will be in December.  If you join Mathcounts, you should expect to do extra competition math independently for approximately one hour per night as well as attend practices (most likely in Room 226 at MNMS) on Friday afternoons from 4:00-6:00) beginning December through mid-March.  It’s a lot of work, but an absolutely amazing experience!  You can also check out the official Mathcounts website to learn more about this program. 

     

Last Modified on Sunday at 8:05 PM