Return to Headlines

National Merit Finalists

FinalistsEleven seniors are ending their high school years in elite company.


Quiana Guo, Connor Reid, Owen Briscoe, Elijah Adu, Elena Wright, Sam Ikenberry, Avery Jones, Jacob Wittrig, Emily Zhang, Audrey Shu and Sarah Huang advanced to be National Merit Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Competition. The students are in this order, left to right, top to bottom, in the accompanying photo. Click here to view details about each student


Students are selected as finalists based upon a PSAT score in the 99th percentile or higher, as well as meeting high academic standards. Approximately 1.5 million students nationally enter the National Merit Scholarship Program each year, with semifinalists being the highest-scoring program entrants in each state and representing less than one percent of the nation’s seniors. 


To become finalists for a National Merit Scholarship, each semifinalist completed a scholarship application, which included an essay and information about extracurricular activities, awards, and leadership positions. Semifinalists also had to have an outstanding academic record and a high school official’s recommendation.


Each year, the program awards approximately 7,100 scholarships totaling $28 million.


By Chris Rosenblum

Posted May 31, 2023