Meeting Minutes February 9, 2012

Centre County Tax Collection Committee Meeting

Meeting Minutes

Thursday February 9, 2012

        I.            Call to Order

The February 9, 2012 meeting of the Centre County Tax Collection Committee (CCTCC) was called to order at 7:03 pm with Randy Brown, Chair, presiding.  The Meeting was held in the Bellefonte High School Library.

      II.            Roll Call

Ms. Wyatt conducted the roll call.  Ms. Wyatt stated a quorum was present.

In attendance were representatives from the following political subdivisions (PSD):  Bellefonte Area School District, Bellefonte Borough, Benner Township, Boggs Township, Centre Hall Borough, College Township, Ferguson Township, Gregg Township, Haines Township, Harris Township, Huston Township, Milesburg Borough, Patton Township, Penn  Township, Penns Valley Area School District, Potter Township, Spring Township, State College Borough, State College Area School District, Unionville Borough, Walker Township, and Worth Township.

Non Delegate Attendees:  from State College Borough: Linda Welker; Marion Twp resident, Brian McCauley and Larry Hilands, RBA.

Absent:  Burnside Township, Bald Eagle Area School District, Burnside Township, Halfmoon Township, Howard Borough, Howard Township, Marion Township, Miles Township, Millheim Borough, Port Matilda Borough, Snow Shoe Borough, Snow Shoe Township,  and Union Township.

    III.            Re-Organization 2012

A.      Election of Officers

Mr. Marshall, Solicitor accepted a motion form Mr. McMath, Spring Township to elect Randy Brown, Chair, Ken Bean, Vice-Chair, Kim Wyatt Secretary/Treasurer, Ralph Stewart, Assistant Secretary.  The motion was seconded by Mr. Rodkey, representative from Huston and Worth Townships.  The vote was unanimous.

B.      Appointment of Solicitor

Mr. Groff, State College Borough made the motion to appoint the Law Offices of Miller Kistler & Campbell as solicitor for the CCTCC for 2012.  Mr. Wall, Penns Valley Area School District seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

C.      Appointment of Tax Appeal Board Members

Ms. Farkas, Harris Township made the motion to appoint the following tax appeal board members for 2012:  William McMath, Thomas Rodkey, Robert Long and alternates, Patrick Leary and Jef Wall.  This motion was seconded by Ms. Royer, Benner Township. The motion passed unanimously.

D.      Appointment of Financial Institution

Mr. Stewart, Bellefonte Borough made the motion to appoint Kish Bank as the financial institution for the CCTCC for 2012.  Mr. Groff seconded the motion.  All members were in favor and the motion passed.

E.       Weighted Vote Calculation

A motion was made by Mr. McMath to approve the weighted vote calculation as provided in the agenda based on 2009 DCED municipal statistics and 2009-2010 PDE school district statistics.  Ms. Farkas seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

F.       TCC Insurance

Mr.  Stewart mad a motion to approve the purchase of general and automobile liability insurance at the cost of $1,000 and public officials’ liability insurance at a cost of $2,250 from PennPrime as presented.  Mr. Wall seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

G.     2011 Financial Review of CCTCC

Mr. Wall made a motion to appoint the firm of Parente Randolph LLC to conduct a review of the finances of the CCTCC.  The motion was seconded by Mr. McMath.  The motion passed unanimously.

    IV.            Approval of Minutes

Mr. Brown asked for approval of the September, 22, 2011 minutes.  Mr. Wall of Penns Valley Area School District made a motion to approve the minutes.  Ms. Miller, Gregg Township seconded the motion.  With no changes to the minutes, the motion passed.

      V.            Financial Report

Ms. Farkas made a motion to accept the financial reports for 2011 and for the period January 1, 2012 to February 3, 2012.  Mr. Groff seconded the motion which passed.

    VI.            2012 Budget

Mr. Brown referenced a copy of the 2012 Budget included in the agenda.  After review, it was determined that the budget was not allocated based solely in EIT collected but rather by weighted vote.  Mr. Brown was to correct the allocation.  Mr. Wall made a motion to accept the 2012 budget allocated by EIT collected.  Mr. Newman, Milesburgh Borough, seconded the motion which passed.

  VII.            Old Business

A.      Tax Appeal Board Regulations

Mr. Long directed our attention to the memo regarding Tax Appeal Board Regulations included in the agenda.  The committee is working on draft regulations which should be distributed for review prior to the next TCC meeting.

  1. New Business

A.      Earned Income Rules and Regulations

Ms. Miller made a motion to form a committee to work with Centre Tax Agency as Collector to draft Rules and Regulations for the TCC as allowed by Act 32 and based upon guidance provided by the DCED. Ms. Marshall, Centre Hall Borough seconded the motion.  The Committee would consist of Bob Long of College Township and Leah Burd of Walker Township.

 IX.               Other Business – Discussion Items

A.      Mr. Brown reminded meeting attendees to notify the TCC secretary if there have been any changes to the delegates for the 2012 calendar year.

B.      Delegates are reminded to complete and return a copy of their Statement of Financial Interest for 2011 to the TCC secretary by May 1, 2012

C.      2012 CCTCC meetings have been scheduled for Thursday May 31, 2012 and Thursday October 25, 2012 at 7 pm at the Bellefonte Area High School Library.

      X.            Report from Committee Chairs

There were no other reports

    XI.            Public Comments

Ms. Welker of the Centre Tax Agency told attendees that seminars for individual taxpayers were in the works with a focus on On-line filing.  Evening hours for the agency would begin soon. 

Ms. Welker said that she is working with municipalities to collect the correct information to insure accurate direct deposits of collected EIT into tax jurisdiction accounts.

IX.            Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Mr. McMath and seconded by Ms. Farkas.  The motion passed and the meeting adjourned at 7:45 pm.